Welcome to Complaint Monitoring Information System                                                                                       

Constitution of the Commission

1.The National Commission for Scheduled Castes (hereinafter called the Commission) has been constituted under Article 338 of the Constitution of India as amended by the Constitution (Eighty-Ninth Amendment) Act, 2003. The Commission shall consist of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and three other Members.

Headquarters of the Commission
2.The Headquarters of the Commission shall be located at New Delhi..

3.The functions and responsibilities of the Commission as laid down in the Constitution are:

  (a)To investigate and monitor all matters relating to the safeguards provided for the Scheduled Castes under the Constitution or under any other law for the time being in force or under any order of the Government and to evaluate the working of such safeguards;
(b)To inquire into specific complaints with respect to the deprivation of rights and safeguards of the Scheduled Castes;;
(c)To participate and advise on the planning process of socio-economic development of the Scheduled Castes and to evaluate the progress of their development under the Union and any State; ;
(d)To present to the President, annually and at such other times as the Commission may deem fit, reports upon the working of those safeguards;;
(e)To make in such report recommendations as to the measures that should be taken by the Union or any State for the effective implementation of those safeguards and other measures for the protection, welfare and socio-economic development of the Scheduled Castes; and
(f)To discharge such other functions in relation to the protection, welfare and development and advancement of the Scheduled Castes as the President may, subject to the provisions of any law made by Parliament, by rule specify..

The Commission shall function by holding ‘sittings’ and ‘meetings’ at any place within the country and also through its officers at the Headquarters and in the State Offices. The Members of the Commission including the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson shall function in accordance with the procedure prescribed under these rules..